America Ban on Five Chinese superpower companies

UMMATIMES - United States (US) authorities designated five Chinese companies as threats to national security under a 2019 law aimed at protecting US communications networks. The determination was announced by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) on Friday (12/3) local time.

The 2019 law obliges the FCC to identify companies producing telecommunications equipment and services that "are deemed to pose an unacceptable risk to US national security."

The five Chinese companies determined to threaten US national security include Huawei Technologies Co, ZTE Corp, Hytera Communications Corp, Hangzhou Hikvision Digital Technology Co and Dahua Technology Co.

"This list provides meaningful guidance to ensure that when a new generation of networks is built across the country, they will not repeat past mistakes or use equipment or services that would threaten US national security or the safety and security of American citizens," said Acting Chair of the FCC. Jessica Rosenworcel, in her statement.

The 2019 law is known to use criteria from the defense authorization law which previously identified five Chinese companies. In August 2020, the US government issued a regulation prohibiting its agency from buying goods or services from the five Chinese companies.