UK Adds Bangladesh to Philippines to Red List

UMMATIMES - Britain said on Friday it would add Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan and the Philippines to its travel "red list". With this policy the British Government prohibits entry of people who come from these countries unless they are citizens of the UK or Ireland.

Those arriving to the UK from countries on the red list will be denied entry, while returning Britons will have to undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine at a hotel.

Starting at 4 a.m. on April 9, Pakistan, Kenya, the Philippines and Bangladesh will be on the list, the government said, joining about thirty other countries that have been on the 'red list', mainly from Africa, the Middle East and South America. .

There have been calls to include some European countries where Covid-19 cases are soaring, but the government says it currently has no plans to do so.