Russia bans 9 Canadian officials from entering its territory

UMMATIMES - Russia announced Monday that it was barring nine Canadian officials from entering its territory indefinitely.

The decision was taken in response to sanctions imposed by Canada in March. Canada has imposed sanctions on nine Russian officials suspected of persecuting Russian opposition figure, Aleksey Navalny. They are considered to have committed grave and systematic violations of human rights in Russia.

Officials barred from entry include David Lametti, Canada's justice minister and attorney general, and Anne Kelly, Canada's Correctional Services commissioner.

In a written statement, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said Canada supports the initiative against Russia at various levels.

"Ottawa supports the baseless accusations from Ukraine against Russia. They are trying to interfere in Russia's internal affairs," Zakharova said.

Canadian Police Commissioner Brenda Lucki, Marci Surkes, policy director for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Dominic LeBlanc, minister for intergovernmental affairs, Jody Thomas, deputy minister for the Department of National Defense, and Mike Rouleau, deputy commander of the Armed Forces, are officials on Russia's sanctions list. .

The Russian sanctions also apply to Brian Brennan, deputy commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and Canadian Admiral Scott Bishop, the Foreign Ministry said.