Barbados Turns into a Republic, This Country Still Recognizes Queen Elizabeth as Head of State

Barbados Turns into a Republic, This Country Still Recognizes Queen Elizabeth as Head of State

Barbados is the latest Commonwealth country to remove Queen Elizabeth II as head of state.

Ummatimes - The Caribbean nation officially became a republic on Tuesday (11/30/2021), after 40 years under the British monarchy.

Reported by the Independent, Queen Elizabeth offered her congratulations and prayers to the new republic of Barbados.

He said he anticipated the continuation of friendship between the two countries.

In a message to Barbados' new president, Dame Sandra Mason and his citizens, the Queen revealed:

"On this important occasion and your appointment as the first president of Barbados, I congratulate you and all the people of Barbados."

"I first visited your beautiful country on independence night in early 1966, and I am so glad that my son is with you today."

"Since then, the people of Barbados have held a special place in my heart; Barbados is a country that deserves to be proud of its vibrant culture, sporting prowess and natural beauty, which attracts visitors from all over the world, including many from the UK."

"As you celebrate this important day, I send you and all the people of Barbados my warmest wishes for future happiness, peace and prosperity."

Other Commonwealth countries have previously proposed replacing the Queen as head of state in recent years, including Jamaica and Australia.

Of the 32 countries he ruled during his 69 years on the throne, 17 have now dethroned him.

But what is the Queen's current position in the remaining countries, and how much power does she have over those countries?

Countries That Still Recognize Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State

The Queen becomes the recognized head of state for all Commonwealth countries and governs them in the same way as she does in England.

Queen Elizabeth II was recognized as such after the death of her father, King George VI, who was head of the Commonwealth as stated in the 1949 London Declaration.

Currently, the Queen is the head of state of 15 countries in the Commonwealth, including the United Kingdom.

The other countries are Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Grenada, Jamaica, Papua New Guinea, Saint Lucia, Solomon Islands, St Kitts and Nevis, and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Queen is also recognized as head of state in a number of overseas territories belonging to the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand, which are not included in the Commonwealth, such as Gibralta, the Falkland Islands, Bermuda and the Cayman Islands.

Countries That No Longer Recognize the Queen as Head of State

Barbados is not the first country to remove the Queen as head of state.

The last country to do the same was Mauritius in 1992.

Previously, Dominica did the same in 1978, Trinidad and Tobago in 1976, and Guyana in 1970.

Other Country Plans

There is talk of Jamaica being the next country to get rid of the Queen.

In 2016, Jamaica's parliament considered amendments to the constitution to do so.

Jamaican opposition leader Mark Golding reignited the issue earlier this year.

He said that it was fundamental for identity and nationality to remove the queen as head of state in order to be truly independent.

Australia also has some debate on this issue.

The last time the country held a referendum to remove the Queen as head of state was in 1999, but 54.9 percent voted to keep her.

In 2008, former prime minister Kevin Rudd said he was committed to removing the Queen as head of state, but the Queen remains in that position to this day.

The Queen's Power as Head of State

Similar to England, the Queen is recognized as a ceremonial ruler in countries where she is the head of state.

The Queen has no real power.

Each state is run independently of the queen and has its own governor and laws.

A Governor-General who acts as the Queen's representative performs the day-to-day ceremonial duties normally performed by the Queen.

Those duties include appointing ministers and ambassadors, or providing royal approval for legislation.